As much as I’d like to write about the rumored IBM acquisition of Sun, it’s probably best to leave that to others, for now.  I have no knowledge of any real or purported talks between the two companies.  I do know that if the deal goes through, I and many, many, many others will be impacted by it.  Hence, it’s best not to write something on the spur of the moment.

Instead, I’ll talk about Sun’s other reason for being in the news today; their Sun Cloud announcement at CommunityOne.  Aside from the catchy product name, how long did the marketing team work on that one ;-), I’m happy to see Sun move in this direction.  Sun is completely bang on with its vision of:

“a world of many clouds, both public and private, that are open and compatible.”

Sun Cloud won’t GA until later in the summer, so for now, we’re making predictions based on a marketing pitch, and arguably, a demo at CommunityOne (which I am not at).  Sun is promising to do much of what Amazon does today.  Sun believes that its Virtual Data Center (VDC) capabilities will differentiate it from Amazon. According to Sun:

“VDC offers developers a single management interface for staging an application running on OpenSolaris, Linux, and Windows. A drag-and-drop method is used for provisioning compute, storage, and networking resources via a Web browser.”

It’s also interesting that Sun chose to use a Creative Commons license for their Cloud APIs.  However, Glyn Moody tweets:

“Sun’s use of CC’d APIs to create an open ecosystem is interesting; doesn’t mean it’ll succeed, of course…”

I have to agree with Glyn.  With the future of Sun up in the air, it’s difficult for me to see a mass of developers or customers seeking Cloud services turning their back on AWS for Sun.  But, by the time the Sun Cloud becomes available, I suspect/hope Sun’s future as an independent company is more certain. Until then…

Follow me on twitter at: SavioRodrigues